FAQ

State Approved Course
The New York Point & Insurance Reduction Program is state-approved by the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).


Am I eligible to take the course?
The New York DMV usually sends out a notice of eligibility if you qualify for a PIRP course.

Is my insurance company obligated to honor this discount ?
Yes. Anyone in New York who completes a Point and Insurance Reduction Program automatically qualifies for a 10% reduction on your premium. The discount will apply for 3 years after course completion.

How much personal information do I need to give out ?
In order to verify your identity, the information you will need to provide includes the following:
Name
Date of birth
Client ID number (located on your drivers license)
Credit card information for payment


Course Duration
Our driving course is required by the state to meet a 6-hour length requirement. You can work through those 6 hours at whatever pace you choose, and you do not have to complete it all in one day. You must finish the course within 30 days of registration.

What subjects will I study?
The subjects include:
Highway safety
Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
State traffic laws
Driving emergencies
Vehicle maintenance

Is the final exam mandatory?
No… Once you finish the last chapter quiz, you are finished.

What is the testing and grading policy?
Each chapter has a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. You will need to score 70% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with a great opportunity to master the course material. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you can retest an unlimited amount of times. There is no final exam.

Is it possible to fail the course?
There are unlimited retests on your chapter quizzes, so if you fail to achieve a 70% on your first try, you may simply retest the chapter again until you pass.
You will be asked to authenticate your identity throughout the course, either by voice verification or typing a keystroke phrase. If you fail this verification you will have to begin your lessons again.


Why is this course timed?
This course is required by law to span 6 hours in length. To comply with this law, we are required to place timers on each page of the course. State regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.

Is there a time limit to complete this course?
The state DMV requires you complete your course within 30 days of registration for the purposes of point reduction or insurance discount. Failure to do so will result in you not earning a point reduction or an insurance discount, and no refunds will be given.

If course is taken for Insurance discount is it automatically reported to my insurance company?
No. You will be responsible for reporting your course completion to your insurance company in order to receive the state-mandated 10% discount. I Drive Safely will send you a certificate of completion to submit to your insurance company.

How often can the PIRP course be taken for point reduction?
Every 18 months; this will reduce 4 points on your driving record.

How often can the course be taken for an insurance discount?
Every 3 years (36 months) to maintain your lower insurance rate.

How many people receive the discount in my family ?
Typically, only one driver per vehicle will receive a discounted rate on their insurance premium.

I received a traffic ticket in New York, what do I do now?
There are two options after being issued a traffic ticket, and you must take action within 15 days of being ticketed.
Plead guilty, fill out the requested information on the ticket, mark it guilty, and sign the ticket. You will then mail it in along with the ticket (or you can pay in person).
Plead not guilty, fill out the requested information on the ticket, and sign. After you mail in your ticket, the court will mail you a letter detailing when and where the hearing will take place.
Instructions can be found on your traffic ticket.

What is the point violation system?
It’s a system used to track how well you are driving. If you accumulate too many points in a certain period of time, you will be deemed an irresponsible driver, and your license could be suspended or revoked. A few example are:

Speeding 1-10 MPH over the speed limit: 3 points
Following too closely: 4 points
Reckless driving: 5 points